Georgia Southwestern State University Institutional Effectiveness Committee Meeting March 9, 2017 President's Conference Room

Members Present:

Teresa Teasley, presiding Brian Adler Christy Barry Darcy Bragg Lisa Cooper Joseph Comeau Bryan Davis David Jenkins Cody King Kelly McCoy Boris Peltsverger Sheryl Venable

The meeting was called to order at 3:31 by Teresa Teasley

• Approval of Minutes

The minutes from the February 9, 2017, IEC meeting were presented. Brian Adler moved that the minutes be approved and seconded by Kelly McCoy. Minutes were approved unanimously.

• Assessment Subcommittee

- Bryan Davis submitted two versions of a proposed rubric for support unit assessment. His proposed version 3b included the addition of stating your outcomes in the terms of the institution's core values. Kelly McCoy motioned that we accept that version. It was seconded by Brian Adler, and then voted on unanimously.
- Bryan Davis reported that the academic assessment team had met and presented a detailed report. See attached report. The report has a compilation of ratings to show areas of strengths and weaknesses. Departments will be given feedback for low ratings and ideas for improvements. It was discussed that the data collection section does not apply until a unit has data to report. We will hold off on that category until after submission of the three-year trends reports in October 2018.

• Strategic Planning Subcommittee

- Joseph Comeau reported that the template for strategic plan reporting was approved at the President's Advisory Committee level.
- Bryan Davis suggested that the next step was to introduce it to the different units at a training. He is going to work on a good example for a support unit and an academic unit to use and present it to the subcommittee for input.

• University Learning Outcomes Task Force

Brian Adler reported that this group met. Ru Story-Huffman had created a questionnaire that had been sent to all Department chairs. The questionnaire is due at the end of Spring Break.

• The April 20, 2017 meeting did not take place because no quorum was present.

Respectfully submitted,

Darcy Bragg, Secretary