Georgia Southwestern State University Institutional Effectiveness Committee (IEC) Meeting September 23, 2015 11:00am President's Conference Room

Members Present

Anish Dave, presiding Talisha Adams Darcy Bragg Joseph Comeau Lisa Cooper Bryan Davis Darcy Donaldson Cindy Holloway Ru Story Huffman

Susan Robinson Teresa Teasley

Guest: Dr. Charles Patterson, Interim President

Call to Order: The meeting was called to order at 11:00 am by Anish Dave.

- Modified Strategic Plan for 2015-2016: Dr. Charles Patterson, Interim President, presented a modified strategic plan to extend through 2016 (See handout). New objectives added to three existing goals and one new goal added with three objectives. Dr. Patterson shared that a narrative was being written for each objective.
- **Approval of Minutes:** The minutes from the April 9, 2015 IEC meeting were presented. Bryan Davis made the motion for the minutes to be approved. Joseph Comeau seconded the motion. The committee voted to approve the minutes after correction of a minor spelling error (last name).
- Welcome of New Members: Dr. Dave welcomed new members: Bryce Benton (SGA-absent), Joseph Comeau (A & S), Susan Robinson (SoBA), Cynthia Holloway (RCI). He also welcomed back for new terms: David Jenkins (Enrollment Management- absent due to teaching assignment), Angela Baughcum (Student Affairs- absent due to teaching assignment), Ru Story-Huffman (Library).

• Tasks for 2015-2016:

- Sub-Committees:
 - Assessment- Dr. Davis explained subcommittee charge (review of annual reports using rubric and formation of university assessment report). (Members volunteered to serve on Assessment Subcommittee for 2015-2016: Darcy Bragg, Joseph Comeau, Bryan Davis, Darcy Donaldson, Teresa Teasley.
 - Strategic Plan- Dr. Cooper explained subcommittee charge (assessing activities related to Strategic Plan from information obtained from annual reports). (Members volunteered to serve on Strategic Planning

Subcommittee for 2015-2016: Talisha Adams, Bryce Benton, Lisa Cooper, Anish Dave, David Jenkins, Cody King, Boris Peltsverger, Susan Robinson.

Task Force:

Critical Thinking- Dr. Davis discussed the history and purpose of as well as progress made on Critical Thinking Task Force to date (adoption of definition and rubric to assess CT in core courses). He asked committee members whether the task force was still needed for further work. After much discussion it was proposed by Comeau to continue the Task Force with two goals in mind: 1) review of current assessment method for effectiveness or need for new assessment method for CT and 2) if new assessment plan is developed the implementation and evaluation of the new plan. Committee's members agreed. (Members volunteered to serve on CT Task Force for 2015-2016: Brian Adler, Angela Baughcum, Cynthia Holloway, Margaret Lehman, Kelly McCoy, Ru Story-Huffman)

• Meeting Schedule for Fall Term:

- October- Subcommittees/task force to meet and organize.
- o November- Dr. Dave will send out member availability poll to schedule.
- December- Annual Assessment Day scheduled for December 15 from 9:30am-1:00pm.
- **Adjournment:** Meeting was adjourned at 12:05pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Teresa Teasley
Recording Secretary