Institutional Effectiveness Committee Meeting April 22, 2022

Members Present:

Lisa Cooper
Bryan Davis
Mohammad Dehzooei
Bokshim Fox
David Jenkins
Gaye Hayes
Alaina Kaus
Jamie MacLennan
Michele McKie
Ramona Mulleins-Foreman
Yangil Park
Suzanne Smith

Chair Jamie MacLennan called the meeting to order at 1:00 p.m.

The minutes from the previous meeting on February 11, 2022, were presented and approved.

Assessment Review Subcommittee:

Bryan Davis reported that the Assessment Review Subcommittee is currently reviewing thirdyear trend reports from academic programs. The subcommittee will soon submit the feedback to the programs. Davis thanks the members of the subcommittee.

SACSCOC Reaffirmation

Bryan Davis reported that Dr. Cuevas, SACS VP, will be visiting early August 2023 to offer feedback. We are trying to get a full draft of the QEP and as much as we can finish of the Compliance Certification at least a week before that time.

The on-site visit will be March 4-7, 2024.

Suzanne Smith has invited a group of people to be members of the Quality Enhancement Plan Committee. They will be starting work this summer about developing potential ideas.

English and Mathematics Completion

Bryan Davis shared a document from the 2020 cohort. We try to get students to finish English and Area A Math within their first 30 hours. People who complete English 1101 and Area A2 Math courses graduate at pretty high rates, especially those who complete this in the first two semesters. Students are not coming near the target of finishing the Area A2 Math in the first two semesters. 42% of the students who responded to the survey are not doing this.

Bryan Davis also shared the Mindset GPS Data (2020). We need to ask how we could promote the growth mindset in students. Motivation is based off the understanding that they can get better. It should be noted that the 2020 cohort came in just as COVID-19 started disrupting everything. Their high school careers were severely disrupted.

Thank you for serving: Teresa Hudson, Gaye Hayes, Ramona Mulleins-Foreman, and Lisa Cooper

Nominations & Elections

Jamie MacLennan was elected as Chair for 2022-2023 Alaina Kaus was elected as Secretary for 2022-2023

Jamie MacLennan will poll next fall for the day and time for our next meeting.

Meeting adjourned at 2:00 p.m.