## Institutional Effectiveness Committee (IEC) September 19, 2023; 11:00 AM

#### **Members Present**

Alaina Kaus, Chair

Brian Mallett, Secretary

Allen Brown

**Bokshim Fox** 

Bryan Davis

Kina Davis

Christa Faison

David Jenkins

Jill Drake

Karlie Gillam-Levering

Michele McKie

Rhonda Slocumb

Shawn McGee

#### Welcome

The chair, Alaina Kaus, welcomed members of the committee and highlighted the agenda for this meeting. Bryan Davis shared a PowerPoint slide deck with an outline of topics to be covered.

# Approval of the Minutes from April 19, 2023

Minutes from the April 19, 2023 meeting were distributed in advance. The committee voted to approve the minutes as presented.

#### <u>Introduction of New Members</u>

New members for this year are: Karlie Gillam-Levering (Athletics); Kina Davis (Staff Senate); Charles Huffman (Arts & Sciences); Michael Fathi (Business & Computing); Allen Brown (Graduate Programs); Jill Drake (Academic Affairs)

Continuing members for this year are: Alaina Kaus (Arts & Sciences); Brian Mallett (Institutional Research); Angie Christmas (Physical Plant); Bokshim Fox (Library); Bryan Davis (Institutional Effectiveness); Christa Faison (Residence Life); David Jenkins (Student Success); Gaye Hayes (Enrollment Management); Michele McKie (Education); Rhonda Slocum (Nursing); Shawn McGee (Auxiliary Services)

#### Reviewing the Charge of the Committee

Bryan Davis reviewed the committee's charge:

- Assess institutional priorities for strategic planning and budgeting
- Oversee assessment of academic programs, academic and student support units, and administrative support units
- The entire committee is required to meet at least three times per year.

These purposes are largely accomplished through two subgroups – the Assessment Review Subcommittee, and the Strategic Plan Assessment Task Force.

## Assignment of Subcommittee and Task Force

#### • Assessment Review Subcommittee

- Meet in the fall term to review assessment plans and results for Administrative Support Units
- Meet in the spring term to review assessment plans for Academic and Student Support Units
- The Assessment Review Subcommittee members are Allen Brown; Rhonda Slocum; Bokshim Fox; Michele McKie; David Jenkins; Michael Fathi; Bryan Davis (ex-officio)
- o Bryan Davis will schedule the Assessment Review Subcommittee meetings

### • Strategic Plan Assessment Task Force

- o Highest Priority: develop an instrument for units to report progress on their unit strategic plans, especially with reference to the institutional strategic plan
  - Bryan Davis presented a template for units to report progress
  - The due date for unit annual reports is November 17, 2023
- o Review progress reports after they are received beginning January, 2024
- o Produce an aggregate report for the April, 2024, IEC meeting, and subsequent offering to leadership
- o GSW Strategic Plan Website: <a href="https://www.gsw.edu/about/strategic-plan/">https://www.gsw.edu/about/strategic-plan/</a>
- The Strategic Plan Assessment Task Force members are Shawn McGee; Christa Faison; Karlie Gillam-Levering; Kina Davis; Jill Drake; Charles Huffman; Gaye Hayes; Bryan Davis (ex-officio)
- o Bryan Davis will schedule the Strategic Plan Assessment Task Force meetings

### Set Meeting Schedule for Fall Term

The next meeting of the Institutional Effectiveness Committee is scheduled on March 13, 2024, at 2:00 PM.

There were no additional items and the meeting was closed by the chair.

Prepared by:

Brian Mallett, IEC Secretary