Minutes Faculty Senate Meeting 9:00 AM April 22, 2016

2nd Floor James Earl Carter Library, Third World Studies Room

Attendance: Sam Peavy, Queen Brown, Lee Ann Dalzell, Chadwick Gugg. Rebecca Mathews Gee, Mark Laughlin, Jamie Maclennan, Courtney McDonald, Yangil Park, Laurel Robinson, Rebecca Short, Thomas Weiland, President Charles Patterson (Ex-Officio)

Absent: Robert Bennett, Brian Parkinson, Vice President Brian Adler (Ex-Officio)

Guests: Bryan Davis

1.Approval of the Minutes from the March Meeting: Dr. Sam Peavy requested approval of the March 18, 2016 minutes. Professor Robinson made a motion to approve the minutes. The motion was seconded by Lee Ann Dalzell and approved.

2. Items from Academic Affairs

- College of Arts and Sciences
 - Global Studies Certificate Curriculum Change Motion to approve by Professor Robinson, seconded by Dr. McDonald and approved.
 - BS in Geology Curriculum Change Motion to approve proposal with correction of a typing error and degree change from BS to BA by Professor Robinson, seconded by Lee Ann Dalzell and approved.
 - BA in Dramatic Arts, Concentration in Comm. & Media Arts Curriculum Change - Motion to approve by Professor Robinson second by Dr. McDonald and approved.
- School of Business
 - BBA in Marketing Curriculum Change Motion to approve by Dr. Laughlin seconded by Professor Robinson and approved.
- School of Computing and Mathematics
 - Minor in Computer Science Curriculum Change Motion to approve by Professor Robinson seconded by Lee Ann Dalzell and approved.
- Proposed changes to the Faculty Handbook Motion to approve with several edits by Professor Robinson seconded by Dr. McDonald and approved.
- Proposed changes to Academic Integrity Policy Motion to approve with several revisions by Professor Robinson second by Dr. Short and approved.

Faculty Reporting

The faculty member's syllabus policies will establish how the violation will be handled in his or her own classroom if the student does not contest that a violation has occurred. In addition, the faculty member's syllabus policies will establish how the violation will be handled in his or her own classroom if the Academic Integrity Board confirms that a violation has occurred.

Membership

The AIB will consist of five teaching faculty appointees, one appointed by the dean of each College or School, and three students and three alternates, appointed by the Student Government Association. The Vice President of Academic Affairs will appoint one academic administrator from dean or lower rank to act as committee chair. Serving on the AIB is a serious commitment that may require significant time and training. Faculty members will serve a term of 3 years, and will agree to complete training in judging academic integrity violations and recommending additional sanctions annually. Student members will serve a term of two one years, as long as they're in good academic standing, they maintain a GPA of at least 2.75 and are not on any sanction (higher than Warning) resulting from any type of conduct code violation, and will agree to complete training in judging academic integrity violations and recommending additional sanctions annually. The Chair of the AIB will serve in that capacity for a one year period with the possibility of yearly renewal.

- 3. Items from Faculty Affairs (?) University Overload Pay Policy. Motion by Professor Robinson to request Faculty Affairs to survey faculty, develop a policy and send to Faculty Senate in the fall, seconded by Dr. Weiland and approved.
- 4.PAC / Strategic Planning (Brian Parkinson, Brian Adler)
- 5. Highlights from the USG Faculty Council Meeting Discussion of Campus Carry and success of Advisement Center at other colleges and universities
- 6.Election of Senate President and secretary for 2016-2017 academic year Dr. Peavy asked members to volunteer to serve. Election was not conducted. Dr. Peavy announced Paula Bryant from Nursing will complete the term of Rebecca Gee who is leaving GSW to take another position.
- 7.Next Meeting August 2016, Planning Week

Sam Peavy - Faculty Senate President 2015-16 Queen Brown, Secretary 2015-16