GSW Faculty Senate Minutes 8/28/2020

1. The GSW faculty senate held the 1st meeting of Fall 2020 at 10:00 AM on August 28 via Blackboard Collaborate. No minutes were available for approval. Dr. Sam Peavy, president of the Senate, called the meeting to order.

2. Dr. Suzanne Smith addressed the Senate with proposed changes to the existing Teaching Circle program. It was suggested that these changes might first be addressed through the Faculty Affairs or Faculty Development committees. After discussion, the proposal was tabled indefinitely.

3. Dr. Peavy introduced Dr. Weaver to address updates to Covid-19 policies on campus. Dr. Weaver noted efforts to maintain hygiene, including providing more PPE and ongoing efforts to secure tests. Faculty raised issues of consistency in inconsistent messaging about hygienic practices and quarantine policy. Faculty also noted the challenges of teaching in different modalities. Dr. Weaver also noted that raises in faculty pay that typically accompany tenure and promotion processes are an ongoing issue related to state funding.

4. Dr. Laura Boren addressed some of the formal policies of quarantine at GSW. It was suggested that more expansive precautions of social distancing might be necessary in the classroom. Dr. Boren emphasized that the campus was following all USG health care directives. It was also suggested that a campus-wide program to better define student approval for reentrance into the classroom would be useful for faculty.

5. Senator Debbie Palmer asked Dr. Smith about faculty awards from Spring 2020. The Faculty Senate evaluated award nominations and passed those evaluations to the Faculty Affairs Committee. Dr. Smith noted that it was necessary to find an appropriate venue for recognizing individuals. There is not yet a public identification of faculty to be recognized.

6. Dr. Sam Peavy adjourned the meeting at approximately 10:50.

Attendance: Sam Peavy (President), Susan Bragg (recording secretary), Debbie Palmer, John Wilson, Kim Hasbach, Michael Moir, Becky Short, Carol Bishop, Chadwick Gugg, Gary Fisk, Tom Lorenz, and Benjamin Meadors. Lysa Chizmadia as observing participant. Dr. Neal Weaver, Dr. Suzanne Smith, and Dr. Laura Boren as invited guests.