## Faculty Senate Minutes for September 16, 2022

## 1. Approval of the minutes

A motion to accept the August 3, 2022 minutes was made by Benjamin Meador. The motion was seconded. There was no discussion. The motion passed.

2. Academic Affairs

The ASN Curriculum Change was discussed. Michelle Dykes reported that the change was to move Microbiology from Area F to Area D for SACSCOC compliance. Benjamin Meador moved to approve the motion and this was seconded. The motion was approved.

The Music curriculum changes were considered. Carol Bishop said that the number of credit hours was changed from two to three as a result of course content expansion. Upon a motion from Benjamin Meador, which was seconded, the motion passed.

3. Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI)

The possibility of establishing a DEI standing committee was discussed. This agenda item is based on a letter from Jonathan Carter. After general discussion regarding the importance of such a committee, Elizabeth Gurnack (filling in Julie Megginson) suggested that we begin with developing a mission statement to clarify the purpose of the committee and that we provide for representation from others, including students and the administration, on the committee. As an initial step, it was decided that we would investigate DEI committees at other universities. Michelle Dykes and Elizabeth Gurnack volunteered to spearhead this effort and report back at the next meeting.

4. Bylaws and Apportionment Task Force

Benjamin Meador reported that the Bylaws and Apportionment Task Force met, and they have outlined bylaws. They plan to present draft bylaws, including an apportionment proposal, at the next regular meeting.

5. Shared Governance Task Force

No report.

6. Report from the Vice President of Academic Affairs – Suzanne Smith

Suzanne Smith disclosed that the BOR/USG has not yet provided feedback on the promotionrelated changes that we sent in May. Unfortunately, this will leave us with a tight timeline to respond to any changes that they may request, to run the changes by the required GSW committees, and to respond by their firm deadline of October 17<sup>th</sup>. One change that we are aware of is that we develop a university-wide rubric. Suzanne Smith suggested that the university-wide rubric will likely be broad and general to allow each school/department to adopt/modify. Evan Kutzler noted that we would likely need a called meeting to address the BOR/USG feedback. Michelle Dykes moved that that we allow the called meeting to be conducted virtually or hybrid. The motion was seconded. The motion passed.

Suzanne Smith then reported on last year's summer pay and summer contract recommendations. The faculty will receive summer contracts. The calculation will be based on an agreed upon date (i.e., five days after drop/add) to avoid multiple changes to faculty pay when students drop or add classes. The pay will be based on the traditional formula and will allow for departmental rounding. The study abroad rate will be \$3,000 with a minimum of five students. There was significant discussion regarding the policy.

Suzanne Smith reported that enrollment is projected to be down about 3%, primarily due to a change in policy in dual enrollment and a low retention rate for the junior class. This is slightly better than the 4 to 10% drop at most other universities.

7. New Business

Anh-Hue Tu reported difficulty in filling tutoring slots at the current minimum wage pay rate. Dr. Smith suggested bringing this up with David Jenkins.

Anh-Hue Tu was concerned about posts to a GSW sponsored parent Facebook page. She suggested that the administrator of the site monitor posts and remove inappropriate posts.

The meeting concluded with Evan Kutzler noting that the next regular meeting would likely be Friday at 10:30 as he did not receive sufficient feedback to propose a different meeting date.

The meeting was adjourned at 11:45.

Attendance:

Carol Bishop	Elizabeth Gurnack for Julie Megginson
Michelle Dykes	Sondra Smith
Chadwick Gugg	Anh-Hue Tu
Tzvetelin Iordanov	Michael Moir for Jeffrey Waldrop
Evan Kutzler	John Wilson
John Lejeune	Keaton Wynn
Benjamin Meador	Chu Chu Wu

Suzanne Smith (ex-officio)