The browser you are using is out of date and may not support all of the features of this website. Please update your browser to a modern browser that supports HTML5.

AMERICUS (April 25, 2017)—Georgia Southwestern State University held its Spring 2017 Honors and Recognition Ceremony Monday, April 24 in Jackson Performance Hall.

“The awards for faculty, staff and students recognize excellence in service, advising, scholarship and commitment to teaching, as well as faculty and staff members of the year,” said Interim President Charles Patterson when giving his opening remarks.

“It is important that we also celebrate, together, the achievements of our students,” Patterson added. “We take great pride in our identity as a close-knit university.  The Honors and Recognition Ceremony, where students and faculty come together in celebration of excellence, is just a small example of this commitment.”

The faculty and staff award recipients were as follows:

  • Faculty Excellence in Service Award: Kailash Ghimire, associate professor and chair of the School of Computing and Mathematics
  • Staff Excellence in Service Award: Donna Tissue, senior administrative assistant and officer of Public Safety
  • Faculty Excellence in Scholarship Award: Gary Fisk, associate professor of psychology and sociology
  • Faculty Excellence and Commitment to Teaching Award: Paul Dahlgren, associate professor of English
  • Faculty Excellence in Advising Award: Bonnie Simmons, associate professor of Nursing
  • Staff Excellence in Advising Award: Linda Randall, director of Academic Resource Center and First Year advocate for the Academic Center for Excellence
  • Professor of the Year (sponsored by the GSW Alumni Association): Mark Grimes, assistant professor of management
  • SGA Faculty Member of the Year: John LeJeune, assistant professor of history and political science
  • Oris Bryant Staff Member of the Year: Donna Tissue, senior administrative assistant and officer of Public Safety

Additionally, faculty were recognized for promotion and tenure; faculty and staff were recognized for years of service to GSW; faculty retirees that were granted emeritus status were recognized and a moment of silence was held for the faculty and staff members that passed away while actively serving Georgia Southwestern.

At the conclusion of the night, Ellen Cotter, Ph.D., professor of psychology and sociology, delivered the second annual "Last Lecture" – a new tradition for the annual ceremony.

The 2017 GSW Outstanding Scholar, Carson Fields of Athens, Ga., was recognized and given a framed resolution from the both the Georgia House of Representatives and the Georgia Senate.

Awards for Academic Excellence were presented to the following students:

College of Arts and Sciences

  • Dramatic Arts Star Award: Sydney Scott of Richland, Ga.
  • Outstanding Graduate in English: Megan Dolan of Leesburg, Ga.
  • The Delores Capitan Writing Awards: First place: Gloria Brown of Ellaville, Ga.; Second Place: Megan Dolan of Leesburg, Ga.; Third place: Alyson Williams of Poulan, Ga.
  • Excellence in Psychology Award: Jamie Gesslein of Chipley, Florida
  • Excellence in Achievement in Women, Gender, & Sexuality Studies: Jamie Gesslein of Chipley, Florida

School of Business Administration

  • Oustanding MBA Graduate Student: Les Cromer
  • Outstanding Business Graduate in the Online Program: Marina Burke of Lawrenceville, Ga.
  • Outstanding Business Graduate in the On-Campus Program: Nicholas Ward, of Eastbourne, England

School of Computing and Mathematics

  • Outstanding Graduate in Computer Science: Hyukpyo Hong of Americus, Ga.
  • Outstanding Service to the School of Mathematics: Pagie Thomas of Leslie, Ga.

School of Education

  • Outstanding Early Childhood Student Teacher Candidate: Rachael Medlin of Cordele, Ga.
  • Outstanding Middle Grades Education Major: Chambliss Goodson Newsome of Leesburg, Ga.
  • Outstanding Early Childhood Student Teacher Candidate – ABAC: David Handley of Fitzgerald, Ga.
  • Dr. Richard W. Litwhiler Award for Health and Physical Education: Russell Hayes of Albany, Ga.
  • Dr. Richard W. Litwhiler Award for Exercise Science and Wellness: Laurie Tison of Warwick, Ga.
  • Leadership in Exercise Science and Wellness: Sarah Bridges of Sasser, Ga.
  • Kirt Myers Excellence in Teaching: Hannah Conger-Robinson of Americus, Ga.

School of Nursing

  • Outstanding Undergraduate in Nursing: Victoria Duren of Adel, Ga.

African American Male Initiative Awards

  • Genesis Davis
  • Brandon Hartman of Decatur, Ga.
  • Jacobi Smith of Macon, Ga.
  • Ashton Treadway of Butler, Ga.
  • Justin Wells of Buena Vista, Ga. 

A Facebook photo gallery of the Honors and Recognition Ceremony is available here.

- GSW - 


GSW Website Search


Email Access

To login into email, please select if you are a student or Faculty/Staff

Student Email    Faculty/Staff Email   Manage Spam Quarantine (Employees)


Apply to GSW

Thank you for your interest in Georgia Southwestern. What would you like to apply for?

Undergraduate Admissions    Graduate Admissions    Check Admission Status


D2L Access

To login into D2L, please select GeorgiaView or GoView option

GeorgiaView    GoView


Site Login

You can use this portal to login to the GSW website.  This will allow you to make instant edits to your pages. If you do not have an account and are a GSW Faculty/Staff member please click here.

Please be sure to logout when you are done!