College of Education Scholarships

The following scholarships are offered through the College of Education. All awards are based on fund availability and criteria mentioned within each scholarship. The College of Education scholarship application must be completed by the April 1nd Deadline to qualify for these funds. Recommendations for these scholarships are made by the faculty of the College of Education and awarded by the Dean upon the recommendation of the scholarship committee. 

Mary G. Dupree Education Scholarship

This scholarship was established in memory of Mary G. Dupree by the J. Frank Myers family. The purpose of the fund is to assist students in good standing in attaining a degree in teacher education.

James Kirt Myers Memorial Scholarship

Dr. James “Kirt” Myers, a dedicated GSW Administrator, teacher, coach, and father died tragically in an automobile accident in 2001. His family, friends, and students began this endowment to honor his memory for his contributions to GSW and the Americus community. The award is available to students with a minimum GPA of 3.0 and who have been admitted to teacher education with a Special Education Major.


Margaret Rhyne Wagener and Robert Lee Rhyne Scholarship

Claude Rhyne, the brother of Margaret R. Wagener and Robert Rhyne, established this scholarship as a lasting tribute to their memory. This scholarship is to be awarded to a student admitted to the College of Education with a major emphasis on Special Education. Applicants must demonstrate a need and maintain a GPA of 2.5.

Civitan Scholarship

This scholarship is based on highest GPA in curriculum and available funds. 

Glynn Mathis Endowed Scholarship

This scholarship was established by Glynn Mathis, an alumnus of Georgia Southwestern and a retired career educator in the State of Georgia. This scholarship is awarded to deserving students (undergraduate or graduate) showing financial need that meet admission standards or requirements at Georgia Southwestern and are pursuing a degree in Education and plan to teach. Preference is given to student athletes demonstrating academic proficiency and athletic skills in any of the intercollegiate sports offered at Georgia Southwestern.

Sumter County Retired Educators Association Scholarship

This scholarship is awarded to two students each academic year who are first semester juniors, admitted to teacher education, and has maintained the GPA set by the teacher education admission policy. 

Fort Family Scholarship

This scholarship is for continuing students in the in the College of Education with preference given to those accepted into the Teacher Education Program with a 3.0 or greater. Scholarship is renewable if funds are available and student remains in good standing in the program and maintains the 3.0

Betty Harpe Scholarship

This scholarship is for elementary or early childhood education majors.

Martin Educator Scholarship

Preference is given to a student who has been admitted into the teacher education program. Preference is given to a student with financial need. Students are eligible to reapply, and the scholarship may be awarded to more than one student.

Department Contact

College of Education

Education Center

229-931-2146 phone
229-931-2163 fax

College of Education

Scholarship Deadline
April 1st