Faculty Senate

The purpose of the Faculty Senate shall be to constitute a body representative of the faculty, to advise the University on matters relative to the life of the University, and to facilitate the work of the faculty.

Faculty Senate Members


Dr. Sam Peavy
President of Faculty Senate
Professor, Geology
Roney Building, Room 206
(229) 931-2330
Dr. Susan Bragg
Faculty Senate Secretary
Associate Professor, History
Business, History, and Political Science Building, Room 313
(229) 931-2175
Dr. Carol Bishop
Associate Professor & MBA Director, Business
carol.bishop@gsw.eduBusiness, History, & Political Science Building, Room 220
(229) 881-7693
Dr. Queen Brown
Professor, Education
Education Center, room 214
(229) 931-2160
Dr. Suzanne Conner
Associate Professor, Business
School of Business Administration
Business, History, and Political Science Building, Room 217
(229) 931-2263
Dr. Gary Fisk
Professor, Psychology
HHS-2 Room 218
(229) 931-2296
Dr. Chadwick Gugg
Associate Professor, Mathematics
Crawford Wheatley Hall, Room 205
(229) 931-2358
Dr. Kimberly Hasbach
Assistant Professor, School of Nursing
Rosalynn Carter Health and Human Services Complex, Room 224
(229) 931-2032
Dr. Benjamin Meador
Assistant Professor, School of Health Sciences
Student Success Center, Room 1228
(229) 931-2156
Dr. Michael Moir
Associate Professor, English
English Building, 239
(229) 931-3012
Dr. Debra Palmer
Associate Professor, Psychology
HHS-2 Room 229
(229) 931-5138
Dr. Rebecca Short
Associate Professor, Education
School of Education, Room 124
(229) 931-2165
Mr. Charles Wells
Professor, Visual Arts
Fine Arts Building, Room 109
(229) 931-2212
Mr. John Wilson
Reference Librarian & Associate Professor
James Earl Carter Library
(229) 931-2850
Dr. Suzanne Smith (Ex Officio)
Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs
Academic Affairs
Wheatley Administration Building, room 205
(229) 928-1361
Dr. Neal Weaver (Ex Officio)
President, Georgia Southwestern State University
President’s Office
Wheatley Administration Building, room 212
(229) 928-1360


Notes on the 10 month pay schedule

A note about the 10 month pay schedule: A frequently asked question is whether faculty members on 10 month contracts can choose to receive their paychecks spread out over 12 months. This simply cannot be done due to state law and IRS regulations. Georgia College and State University has a nice explanation of why 10 month contracts cannot be paid out over 12 months.