admissions@gsw.edu 877-871-4594

Faculty Senate

The purpose of the Faculty Senate shall be to constitute a body representative of the faculty, to advise the University on matters relative to the life of the University, and to facilitate the work of the faculty.

Faculty Senate Members
Dr. Chadwick Gugg
President of Faculty Senate
Professor, Mathematics
chadwick.gugg@gsw.edu
Crawford Wheatley Hall Room 205
(229) 931-2358
Dr. Gary Fisk
Secretary of Faculty Senate
Professor, Psychology
gary.fisk@gsw.edu
Carter II - Room 218
(229) 931-2296
Dr. Carol Bishop
Associate Professor & MBA Director, Business
carol.bishop@gsw.edu
Business, History, & Political Science Building, Room 220
(229) 881-7693
Dr. Suzanne Conner
Associate Professor, Business
suzanne.conner@gsw.edu
School of Business Administration
Business, History, and Political Science Building, Room 217
(229) 931-2263
Ms. Bokshim Fox
Assistant Professor & Cataloguing and Database Manager Librarian
bokshim.fox@gsw.edu
James Earl Carter Library
(229) 931-2258
Dr. Tzvetelin Iordanov
Professor, Analytical Chemistry
tzvetelin.iordanov@gsw.edu
Science Building – Room 108
(229) 931-2333
Dr. Evan Kutzler
Associate Professor, History
evan.kutzler@gsw.edu
Business, History, and Political Science Building Room 316
(229) 931-2102

Dr. Benjamin Meador
Assistant Professor,
Exercise Science
benjamin.meador@gsw.edu
Student Success Center (SSC)
Room 1228
(229) 931-2156

Dr. Julie Megginson
Professor, Music
julie.megginson@gsw.edu
Jackson Hall – Room 121
(229) 931-2240
Ms. Jessica Ouzts
Clinical Educator and Lecturer – Nursing
jessica.ouzts@gsw.edu
Rosalynn Carter Health and Human Services Complex Room 234
(229) 931-2604
Dr. Debra Palmer
Associate Professor, Psychology
debbie.palmer@gsw.edu
HHS-2 Room 229
(229) 931-5138
Dr. Sam Peavy
Professor, Geophysics and Environmental Geology
samuel.peavy@gsw.edu
Roney Building - Room 206
(229) 931-2330

Dr. Rebecca Short
Associate Professor, Education
rebecca.short@gsw.edu
College of Education
Room 124
(229) 931-2165

Dr. Jeffrey Waldrop
Professor, English
jeffrey.waldrop@gsw.edu
English Building – Room 220
(229) 931-2182

Dr. Chu Chu Wu
Professor, Elementary Education
chu.wu@gsw.edu
College of Education
Room 216
(229) 928-2477

Dr. Suzanne Smith (Ex Officio)
Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs
suzanne.smith@gsw.edu
Wheatley Administration Building – Room 205
(229) 928-1361
Dr. Neal Weaver (Ex Officio)
President, Georgia Southwestern State University
neal.weaver@gsw.edu
President’s Office
Wheatley Administration Building - Room 212
(229) 928-1360

Resources

Notes on the 10 month pay schedule

A note about the 10 month pay schedule: A frequently asked question is whether faculty members on 10 month contracts can choose to receive their paychecks spread out over 12 months. This simply cannot be done due to state law and IRS regulations. Georgia College and State University has a nice explanation of why 10 month contracts cannot be paid out over 12 months.